Spread the love

Adobe Creative Suite 6 and Adobe Creative Cloud include an automatic update mechanism that is part of the Adobe Application Manager and Adobe Creative Cloud desktop application (respectively). By default, this update mechanism uses an Internet connection to check Adobe servers for available updates to installed CS6 or Creative Cloud applications. In certain circumstances, system administrators want to disable these connections. You can disable these connections at the time of deployment using features in the Creative Cloud Packager.

This document explains how to disable the connections after deployment, or when using other deployment methods.

Machine-wide disablement

To disable access to updates for all users on a given machine, administrators can create an admin preference file. (This file disables access to updates both from the Help > Updates menu, as well as automatic update checks.) Create a plain-text file named AdobeUpdaterAdminPrefs.dat with the following contents:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
         
    <Preferences>
         
    <Suppressed>1</Suppressed>
         
    </Preferences>

Put the file in the following location:

Mac OSX <Startup Disk>/Library/Application Support/Adobe/AAMUpdaterInventory/1.0/AdobeUpdaterAdminPrefs.dat
Windows x86  C:\Program files\common files\adobe\AAMUpdaterInventory\1.0\AdobeUpdaterAdminPrefs.dat
Windows x64  C:\Program files(x86)\common files\adobe\AAMUpdaterInventory\1.0\AdobeUpdaterAdminPrefs.dat